Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from May, 2013

Prada and Prejudice

Prada and Prejudice
By Mandy Hubbard
Razorbill, 2009
Audience: All Teens

Source: Library

From Goodreads:
To impress the popular girls on a high school trip to London, klutzy Callie buys real Prada heels. But trying them on, she trips?conks her head?and wakes up in the year 1815! There Callie meets Emily, who takes her in, mistaking her for a long-lost friend. As she spends time with Emily?s family, Callie warms to them?particularly to Emily?s cousin Alex, a hottie and a duke, if a tad arrogant.

But can Callie save Emily from a dire engagement, and win Alex?s heart, before her time in the past is up?

More Cabot than Ibbotson, Prada and Prejudice is a high-concept romantic comedy about finding friendship and love in the past in order to have happiness in the present.


This book was so cute. It made me want a pair of Prada heels. I would probably survive five seconds in them, so this is a major accomplishment of Mandy Hubbard. I've never wanted Prada heels before.

I have had this book on…

Going Vintage

Going Vintage
Lindsey Leavitt
Bloomsbury, 2013
Audience: All Teens

Source: Edelweiss/NetGalley

From Goodreads:
When Mallory’s boyfriend, Jeremy, cheats on her with an online girlfriend, Mallory decides the best way to de-Jeremy her life is to de-modernize things too. Inspired by a list of goals her grandmother made in1962, Mallory swears off technology and returns to a simpler time (when boyfriends couldn’t cheat with computer avatars). The List:
1. Run for pep club secretary
2. Host a fancy dinner party/soiree
3. Sew a dress for Homecoming
4. Find a steady
5. Do something dangerous
But simple proves to be crazy-complicated, and the details of the past begin to change Mallory’s present. Add in a too-busy grandmother, a sassy sister, and the cute pep-club president–who just happens to be her ex’s cousin–and soon Mallory begins to wonder if going vintage is going too far.


Mallory deals with her breakup through a ridiculous quest that I would have lasted about five minutes trying to complete. …

Top Ten New Favorites

Top Ten Tuesday Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish
Top Ten Freebie You choose!
I have read a lot of awesome books lately, so I decided to share my new favorites with you.








The 5th Wave

The 5th Wave
By Rick Yancey
Putnam Juvenile, 2013
Audience: Older Teens

Source: Edelweiss

From Goodreads:
After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.


In a word:
Amazing

In many words:
The best book I've read since The Hunger Games. Well, and Anna and the French Kiss.

Seriously - You do not want to miss this one. …

New Books, Happy Girl 28

Stacking the Shelves Hosted by Tynga's Reviews
I got some adult books this time! They sound fantastic.





Feature and Follow: Feedback

ParaJunkee Alison Can Read The featured blog this week: Bookingly Yours
The topic: Congratulations Feature and Follow on 150 weeks! What would you change? What do you like?
I'm brand new to this hop, so I don't have any changes. I like the fact that it builds community and provides discussion. It's a great idea! I'm looking forward to seeing everyone else's feedback.

The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby
By F. Scott Fitzgerald
Scribner, 1925
Audience: Older Teens

Source: My Own Bookshelf

I'm not including a synopsis for this one because it's just one spoiler after another.

I first read this book as a junior in high school. I loved it. It was one of the best required reading books EVER.

Here is what I remembered from the book before I sat down to re-read it:

1. The eyes in the advertisement are God's.
2. The green light is Daisy.

That's it. Seriously.

Those were probably two questions on the test that I got wrong.

I forgot how dramatic and juicy and soap operatic everything was, and I remembered why I liked this story so much as a high school student. Things sour at the end, but it starts off as a love story. Yes, a majority of the characters are shallow, but they have interesting lives. They come from money and think that they are entitled to do whatever they want and not deal with the consequences. Everything is so messed up and everyone's lives …

House of Secrets

House of Secrets
By Ned Vizzini, Chris Columbus
Balzer + Bray, 2013
Audience: Tweens

Source: NetGalley/Edelweiss

From Goodreads:
The Walker kids had it all: loving parents, a big house in San Francisco, all the latest video games . . . but everything changed when their father lost his job as a result of an inexplicable transgression. Now the family is moving into Kristoff House, a mysterious place built nearly a century earlier by Denver Kristoff, a troubled writer with a penchant for the occult.

Suddenly the siblings find themselves launched on an epic journey into a mash-up world born of Kristoff’s dangerous imagination, to retrieve a dark book of untold power, uncover the Walker family’s secret history and save their parents . . . and maybe even the world.


Whoa, what an adventure!
I could totally see the house in my mind and I think my favorite character was the sister with dyslexia.
That being said, it's probably obvious that this is a good book for fans of Harry Potter and Perc…

Cover Reveal: Smash Into You

Look at this cover! Isn't it fantastic?! It definitely makes me want to read the book. And the description sounds fantastic, too! Add it to your TBR pile, stat.

The Girl Guide Blitz and Giveaway

Finding your unique voice in a noisy world can be hard—very hard. But not if you have a great guide! The Girl Guide: Finding Your Place in a Mixed-Up World is a must-read for girls in grades 6–8 as they enter the tumultuous world of adolescence. Packed with fun worksheets and quizzes, as well as stories from older girls and women, The Girl Guide covers everything a teenage girl needs to know on the journey toward her own identity. Proven strategies for dealing with stress management, confronting relational aggression, being safe online, navigating the changing mother-daughter relationship, and more make this the ultimate guide for any girl to get through the teen years and discover her unique point of view in the world.


Reviews:
"The Girl Guide is a game-changer and should be in every girl's backpack." ~ Ali Cross, author of the Desolation series
"The perfect remedy for a world obsessed with airbrushed perfection. A must read for every girl who has ever wondered what i…