Skip to main content

House of Secrets

House of Secrets
By Ned Vizzini, Chris Columbus
Balzer + Bray, 2013
Audience: Tweens

Source: NetGalley/Edelweiss

From Goodreads:
The Walker kids had it all: loving parents, a big house in San Francisco, all the latest video games . . . but everything changed when their father lost his job as a result of an inexplicable transgression. Now the family is moving into Kristoff House, a mysterious place built nearly a century earlier by Denver Kristoff, a troubled writer with a penchant for the occult.

Suddenly the siblings find themselves launched on an epic journey into a mash-up world born of Kristoff’s dangerous imagination, to retrieve a dark book of untold power, uncover the Walker family’s secret history and save their parents . . . and maybe even the world.


Whoa, what an adventure!
I could totally see the house in my mind and I think my favorite character was the sister with dyslexia.
That being said, it's probably obvious that this is a good book for fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson.

It did get to be a little long, but the characters and worlds were so vivid and colorful that I didn't mind. The witch was crazy and I really wanted to see that house - especially the library. It was so cool that the authors combined three of Denver Kristoff's books to make another world. I'm excited for the next one. It'll be a long wait!

(There's a lot of violence, destruction, and death. It might not be best for young readers who don't like that sort of thing.)

Comments