Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from June, 2013

So what is Bloglovin anyway?

I don't know why, but Google Reader shuts down on July 1.

I decided to try Bloglovin myself, and I love it. It was super easy to set up. I just followed the steps, and it added all of the blogs that I already follow. Super fast, too. My favorite part of it is that I can now follow wordpress blogs without needing to sign up for e-mails. It has a handy feature where you can mark them as read or unread. If you've already read them, it doesn't show up in your feed anymore, which I think is FANTASTIC. It also recommends great blogs in different categories. I've found a few new and great ones this way.

I'm a big fan.

So, if you think you want to try it, please follow me!

Just click here:

A Masque of Infamy Blog Tour

A Masque of Infamy By Kelly Dessaint Phony Lid Books, 2013 Audience: Old Teens
Source: E-Galley
From Goodreads: After moving from Los Angeles to small town Alabama in 1987 with his father, his younger brother and Rick, a friend of the family, Louis tries to fit in at the local high school, but the Bible-thumpers and the rednecks don’t take too kindly to his outlandish wardrobe and burgeoning punk attitude. At home, he defies the sadistic intentions of Rick, who rules the household with an iron fist. As Louis begins to lose all hope, he stumbles upon indisputable proof that will free him and his brother from Rick’s tyranny. But just when he thinks his troubles are over, he’s locked up in the adolescent ward of a mental hospital, where he must fight the red tape of the system to realize his dream of being a punk rocker.
Kelly Dessaint definitely had a story to tell. He did a great job writing this book. There were scenes that just broke my heart. No child or teen should have to live tha…

Peanut

Peanut
Ayun Halliday and Paul Hoppe
Schwartz & Wade, 2012
Audience: Everyone

Source: Library

From Goodreads:
Before you write me off as a delusional psycho, think about what it's like to be thrown into a situation where everyone knows everyone... and no one knows you.Sadie has the perfect plan to snag some friends when she transfers to Plainfield High—pretend to have a peanut allergy. But what happens when you have to hand in that student health form your unsuspecting mom was supposed to fill out? And what if your new friends want to come over and your mom serves them snacks? (Peanut butter sandwich, anyone?) And then there's the bake sale, when your teacher thinks you ate a brownie with peanuts. Graphic coming-of-age novels have huge cross-over potential, and Peanut is sure to appeal to adults and teens alike.

This book surprised me right away - all I knew was that it was about a girl with a peanut allergy. I had heard good things about it, so I asked our library to get i…

Wild Awake

Wild Awake
By Hilary T. Smith
Katherine Tegen Books, 2013
Audience: Older Teens

Source: Edelweiss/NetGalley

From Goodreads:
Things you earnestly believe will happen while your parents are away:

1. You will remember to water the azaleas.
2. You will take detailed, accurate messages.
3. You will call your older brother, Denny, if even the slightest thing goes wrong.
4. You and your best friend/bandmate Lukas will win Battle of the Bands.
5. Amid the thrill of victory, Lukas will finally realize you are the girl of his dreams.

Things that actually happen:

1. A stranger calls who says he knew your sister.
2. He says he has her stuff.
3. What stuff? Her stuff.
4. You tell him your parents won’t be able to—
5. Sukey died five years ago; can’t he—
6. You pick up a pen.
7. You scribble down the address.
8. You get on your bike and go.
9. Things . . . get a little crazy after that.*
*also, you fall in love, but not with Lukas.

Both exhilarating and wrenching, Hilary T. Smith’s debut novel captures the messy glo…

Top Ten Tuesday: 2013 So Far

Top Ten Tuesday Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish
Top Ten Books of 2013 So Far
This was easy for me! No contest. Most of these were from 2013, and if not, they're on this list because I read them in 2013. They're all awesome and you should give all of them a shot.  If my review has been posted, you can find it by clicking on the picture.












Invisibility

Invisibility
By Andrea Cremer and David Levithan
Philomel, 2013
Audience: All Teens

Source: Edelweiss/NetGalley

From Goodreads:
Stephen has been invisible for practically his whole life — because of a curse his grandfather, a powerful cursecaster, bestowed on Stephen’s mother before Stephen was born. So when Elizabeth moves to Stephen’s NYC apartment building from Minnesota, no one is more surprised than he is that she can see him. A budding romance ensues, and when Stephen confides in Elizabeth about his predicament, the two of them decide to dive headfirst into the secret world of cursecasters and spellseekers to figure out a way to break the curse. But things don’t go as planned, especially when Stephen’s grandfather arrives in town, taking his anger out on everyone he sees. In the end, Elizabeth and Stephen must decide how big of a sacrifice they’re willing to make for Stephen to become visible — because the answer could mean the difference between life and death. At least for Eliz…

Readers' Roundtable: I didn't like that popular book...

Michelle from Pink Polka Dot Book Blog (Thursdays)
Emily from Read Your Bookcase (Fridays)
AND.... our newest member Emily from Emily's Crammed Bookshelf (Mondays)
Welcome to the other Emily! 

So everyone's read that one title and LOVED it, but you? Not so much.

 We had to read this one for school. Everyone loved it but me. I am so not outdoorsy. There's a reason my blog is about books. And when he's making things to help him survive -- I would never be able to do that, and it's impossible for me to imagine what the author is describing. I am glad it's so popular and that people liked a required reading book, but there weren't any girls in it! What fun is that?








I honestly have only liked one Nicholas Sparks book - Safe Haven. It had more substance to it. Usually, I read his books because I like to guess who is going to die. Usually, I am right. Sad, I know. But true. It's good for teens who are starting to read adult books, though.









Ok, calm down.
This was a d…

Wrap Up Post #6

Hosted by Evie @Bookish www.evie-bookish.blogspot.com
June Wrap Up Hosted by Justin @Justin's Book Blog http://www.justinsbookblog.com/

I read:
Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan

Unfortunately, I can't count either of these towards the challenge, because they are too new. BUT - I read them from my own bookcase! Hooray!

Death in the Vines

Death in the Vines
By ML Longworth
Penguin, 2013
Audience: Teens, Adults

Source: Edelweiss/NetGalley

From Goodreads:
Fans of Donna Leon and Andrea Camilleri, mystery lovers, Francophiles, and foodies will adore this who-done-it with a beautiful European setting. In her riveting follow-up toDeath at the Chateau BremontandMurder in the Rue Dumas, M. L. Longworth evokes the sights and sounds of late-summer Provence, where the mistral blows and death comes in the most unexpected places.            Olivier Bonnard, the owner of Domaine Beauclaire winery, is devastated when he discovers the theft of a priceless cache of rare vintages. Soon after, Monsieur Gilles d’Arras reports that his wife, Pauline, has vanished from their lavish apartment. As Judge Antoine Verlaque and Commissioner Paulik tackle the case (with a little help from Marine Bonnet), they receive an urgent call: Bonnard has just found Madame d’Arras—dead in his vineyard.


In the first 50 or so pages, there was a murder, a missi…

Top Ten Tuesday Summer 2013 TBR

Top Ten Tuesday Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish
Theme: Top Ten Books at the Top of My Summer TBR List
Oh, Broke and the Bookish, why do you do this to me so often?!!?!

I always have SO MANY books that I want to read, and you want me to NARROW IT DOWN, and to only TEN??? Sigh. I'll try my best, but I know I'll forget something.

Click on the picture to go to Goodreads.









All I Need

All I Need
By Susane Colasanti
Viking Juvenile, 2013
Audience: Older Teens

Source: NetGalley/Edelweiss

From Goodreads:
The last night of summer is only the beginning.

Skye wants to meet the boy who will change her life forever. Seth feels their instant connection the second he sees her. When Seth starts talking to Skye at the last beach party of the summer, it’s obvious to both of them that this is something real. But when Seth leaves for college before they exchange contact info, Skye wonders if he felt the same way she did—and if she will ever see him again. Even if they find their way back to each other, can they make a long-distance relationship work despite trust issues, ex drama, and some serious background differences?

Teen favorite Susane Colasanti returns to the alternating-voice style of her beloved debutWhen It Happensin thisSerendipity-inspired story about summer, soul mates, and the moments that change our lives forever.

This book was so sweet. It really makes you believe i…

I joined Bloglovin'!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

I joined Bloglovin' today, and I really like how it's set up. Make sure you follow me!

Excerpt Reveal & Giveaway: Between Friends