Skip to main content

Death in the Vines

Death in the Vines
By ML Longworth
Penguin, 2013
Audience: Teens, Adults

Source: Edelweiss/NetGalley

From Goodreads:
Fans of Donna Leon and Andrea Camilleri, mystery lovers, Francophiles, and foodies will adore this who-done-it with a beautiful European setting. In her riveting follow-up toDeath at the Chateau Bremont and Murder in the Rue Dumas, M. L. Longworth evokes the sights and sounds of late-summer Provence, where the mistral blows and death comes in the most unexpected places.            Olivier Bonnard, the owner of Domaine Beauclaire winery, is devastated when he discovers the theft of a priceless cache of rare vintages. Soon after, Monsieur Gilles d’Arras reports that his wife, Pauline, has vanished from their lavish apartment. As Judge Antoine Verlaque and Commissioner Paulik tackle the case (with a little help from Marine Bonnet), they receive an urgent call: Bonnard has just found Madame d’Arras—dead in his vineyard.


In the first 50 or so pages, there was a murder, a missing persons case, a rape and two suicides. It was crazy! The names are all French too, so I had to really pay attention to keep track of all of the characters. They started their stories separately, but everything came together at the end. It was a fairly quick read, and I really enjoyed it. I hadn't read any of the other books, but I still enjoyed this one.

Sometimes they talked about wine and food too much and I just didn't care! I wanted to know what HAPPENED! I'm glad I got an e-galley of this one. I was ready for something a bit different.

Follow on Bloglovin

Comments