Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from August, 2014

How They Choked

How They Choked
Georgia Bragg
Walker Childrens, 2014
Source: Library
Audience: Teens, Older Children

From Goodreads:
Over the course of history, famous people made mistakes that were so monumental they could never escape them, no matter how brilliant their successes! Ferdinand Magellan is credited as the first man to sail around the world . . . but he only actually made it halfway. His terrible treatment of everyone he met cut his life journey short. Queen Isabella of Spain is remembered for financing Columbus’s expeditions—and for creating the Spanish Inquisition. J. Bruce Ismay commissioned the unsinkable marvel of the sea, theTitanic—and then jumped the line of women and children to escape death on a lifeboat. Readers will be fascinated well past the final curtain and will empathize with the flawed humanity of these achievers.

I loved How They Croaked. I wasn’t expecting to, because the celebrities were all people I knew about already. However, Bragg’s snarky wit and a few new-to-m…

Breathe, Annie, Breathe

Breathe, Annie, Breathe
Miranda Kenneally
Sourcebooks Fire, 2014
Source: E-Galley
Audience: Older Teens

From Goodreads:
Annie hates running. No matter how far she jogs, she can’t escape the guilt that if she hadn’t broken up with Kyle, he might still be alive. So to honor his memory, she starts preparing for the marathon he intended to race.

But the training is even more grueling than Annie could have imagined. Despite her coaching, she’s at war with her body, her mind—and her heart. With every mile that athletic Jeremiah cheers her on, she grows more conflicted. She wants to run into his arms…and sprint in the opposite direction. For Annie, opening up to love again may be even more of a challenge than crossing the finish line.


Expectations: I could have sworn that I had read a prompt that this was about a girl who had asthma. I have no idea where I read that, but it wasn’t true. I was interested in that storyline because I have exercise-induced asthma. Because of that, and the fact th…

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You
Ally Carter
Disney-Hyperion, 2006
Audience: All Teens
Source: Borrowed

From Goodreads:
Cammie Morgan is a student at the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women, a fairly typical all-girls school-that is, if every school taught advanced martial arts in PE and the latest in chemical warfare in science, and students received extra credit for breaking CIA codes in computer class. The Gallagher Academy might claim to be a school for geniuses but it's really a school for spies. Even though Cammie is fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man in seven different ways, she has no idea what to do when she meets an ordinary boy who thinks she's an ordinary girl. Sure, she can tap his phone, hack into his computer, or track him through town with the skill of a real "pavement artist"-but can she maneuver a relationship with someone who can never know the truth about her?

Cammie Morgan may be an elite spy-…

Moon Over Manifest

Moon Over Manifest
Clare Vanderpool
Delacorte Books for Young Readers, 2010
Source: My Own Bookshelf
Audience: Tweens

From Goodreads:
Abilene Tucker feels abandoned. Her father has put her on a train, sending her off to live with an old friend for the summer while he works a railroad job. Armed only with a few possessions and her list of universals, Abilene jumps off the train in Manifest, Kansas, aiming to learn about the boy her father once was.
Having heard stories about Manifest, Abilene is disappointed to find that it’s just a dried-up, worn-out old town. But her disappointment quickly turns to excitement when she discovers a hidden cigar box full of mementos, including some old letters that mention a spy known as the Rattler. These mysterious letters send Abilene and her new friends, Lettie and Ruthanne, on an honest-to-goodness spy hunt, even though they are warned to “Leave Well Enough Alone.”
Abilene throws all caution aside when she heads down the mysterious Path to Perdition …

Isla and the Happily Ever After

Isla and the Happily Ever After
Stephanie Perkins
Dutton, 2014
Audience: Older Teens
Source: My Own Bookshelf

From Goodreads:
From the glittering streets of Manhattan to the moonlit rooftops of Paris, falling in love is easy for hopeless dreamer Isla and introspective artist Josh. But as they begin their senior year in France, Isla and Josh are quickly forced to confront the heartbreaking reality that happily-ever-afters aren’t always forever.

Hooray, it’s finally here!

First, and most importantly, I absolutely LOVED THE ENDING. It was so sweet and perfect.

The only thing that concerns me about this book is what will Stephanie Perkins do next? This is it for the trilogy! Eeps!

Ok, now that we’re done with that, I liked this book. It wasn’t amazing like Lola and I think I liked Anna better, too but it was fun to read.

As I was reading, I was imagining Isla as Stephanie Perkins. I wonder if that’s why she felt she had so much trouble getting it right - was she telling her own story in a…

Top Secret Twenty-One

Top Secret Twenty-One
Janet Evanovich
Bantam, 2014
Audience: Adults
Source: Library

From Goodreads:
Trenton, New Jersey’s favorite used-car dealer, Jimmy Poletti, was caught selling a lot more than used cars out of his dealerships. Now he’s out on bail and has missed his date in court, and bounty hunter Stephanie Plum is looking to bring him in. Leads are quickly turning into dead ends, and all too frequently into dead bodies. Even Joe Morelli, the city’s hottest cop, is struggling to find a clue to the suspected killer’s whereabouts. These are desperate times, and they call for desperate measures. So Stephanie is going to have to do something she really doesn’t want to do: protect former hospital security guard and general pain in her behind Randy Briggs. Briggs was picking up quick cash as Poletti’s bookkeeper and knows all his boss’s dirty secrets. Now Briggs is next on Poletti’s list of people to put six feet under.


Book 21 felt a bit more fresh than the last few. It had a strong …

Half a Chance

Half a Chance
Cynthia Lord
Scholastic Press, 2014
Audience: Children
Source: Library

From Goodreads:
When Lucy's family moves to an old house on a lake, Lucy tries to see her new home through her camera's lens, as her father has taught her -- he's a famous photographer, away on a shoot. Will her photos ever meet his high standards? When she discovers that he's judging a photo contest, Lucy decides to enter anonymously. She wants to find out if her eye for photography is really special -- or only good enough.

As she seeks out subjects for her photos, Lucy gets to know Nate, the boy next door. But slowly the camera reveals what Nate doesn't want to see: his grandmother's memory is slipping away, and with it much of what he cherishes about his summers on the lake. This summer, Nate will learn about the power of art to show truth. And Lucy will learn how beauty can change lives . . . including her own.


I was told this book is getting buzz for the Newbery. I liked th…

Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure that I Want to Read

Top Ten Tuesday Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish
Top Ten Books I’m Not Too Sure About
1. The Road by Cormac McCarthy
I wanted to read this before I saw the movie, but the movie was so, so bleak. I’m not sure I should read it.









2. Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan My friend gave it a good review and both authors are amazing. However, the summary didn’t really grab me. Should I read it? Will I love it even though the description didn’t captivate me?







3. The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan Prior to the spin-off series, I was super upset that it was the end of the Percy Jackson series. Now it would probably be ok to finish because I could read something else related to it, but it still makes me sad.






4. The Maze Runner by James Dashner This is a silly reason to not be sure about reading it -- the movie is coming out and I’ve heard nothing but good things -- but our library copies are so grimy! I don’t want to buy it for sure, but I don’t want to read a grimy copy, eit…

The Great Trouble

The Great Trouble
Deborah Hopkinson
Knopf Books for Young Readers, 2013
Audience: Children
Source: Library

From Goodreads:
Eel has troubles of his own: As an orphan and a "mudlark," he spends his days in the filthy River Thames, searching for bits of things to sell. He's being hunted by Fisheye Bill Tyler, and a nastier man never walked the streets of London. And he's got a secret that costs him four precious shillings a week to keep safe. 

But even for Eel, things aren't so bad until that fateful August day in 1854—the day the Great Trouble begins. Mr. Griggs, the tailor, is the first to get sick, and soon it's clear that the deadly cholera—the "blue death"—has come to Broad Street. 

Everyone believes that cholera is spread through poisonous air. But one man, Dr. John Snow, has a different theory. As the epidemic surges, it's up to Eel and his best friend Florrie to gather evidence to prove Snow's theory before the entire neighborhood is wipe…

Biggest Flirts

Biggest Flirts
Jennifer Echols
Simon Pulse, 2014
Audience: Older Teens
Source: E-Galley

From Goodreads:
Tia just wants to have fun. She’s worked hard to earn her reputation as the life of the party, and she’s ready for a carefree senior year of hanging out with friends and hooking up with cute boys. And her first order of business? New guy Will. She can’t get enough of his Midwestern accent and laidback swagger.

As the sparks start to fly, Will wants to get serious. Tia’s seen how caring too much has left her sisters heartbroken, and she isn’t interested in commitment. But pushing Will away drives him into the arms of another girl. Tia tells herself it’s no big deal…until the yearbook elections are announced. Getting voted Biggest Flirts with Will is, well, awkward. They may just be friends, but their chemistry is beginning to jeopardize Will’s new relationship—and causing Tia to reconsider her true feelings. What started as a lighthearted fling is about to get very complicated…


This w…

Rooms

Rooms
Lauren Oliver
Ecco, 2014
Audience: Adults
Source: E-Galley

From Goodreads:
The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past …