Skip to main content

Rooms



Rooms
Lauren Oliver
Ecco, 2014
Audience: Adults
Source: E-Galley

From Goodreads:
The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways 

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance. 

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb. 

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.


Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.


I love a good ghost story! This book was exactly what I was in the mood to read. I loved it. The characters were definitely flawed, which made the story captivating. My only criticism as far as the characters go was that Caroline disappeared from the storyline for a bit too long - even though she didn’t contribute to the story much. My favorite character was Trenton. He was the one I was rooting for the most. I wanted his life to improve and for him to make the right choices in life. Everyone had their own troubles and it was suspenseful waiting to read about what the source of their problems were and how they could possibly fix them in the future. As far as the ghosts go, I liked how they weren’t mean or threatening.

The story kept me guessing until the very end and I really enjoyed reading it. I was glad everything was resolved at the end. This one is going on my wish list!

Comments