Skip to main content

Ruth Galloway Series

The Crossing Places
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2010

The Janus Stone
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2011

The House at Sea’s End
Quercus Publishing, 2011

Elly Griffiths
Audience: Adults, Older Teens
Source: Library

Man, I love this series. It’s like a less-intense, slightly more realistic Indiana Jones.

Except it’s a woman, in England, that solves mysteries.

It’s so good! The first two were incredibly similar as far as the nature of the mystery goes. The third mixed it up a little - an excellent choice. In addition to archeology and mystery, there’s relationships and romance and drama to keep things interesting. I can’t wait to read the rest of the series. However, I hope that the formula gets mixed up a bit in the next few. Ruth always seems to be in danger, and I think it would be nice to see someone else in peril at the end of the book. Unfortunately, Ruth isn’t my favorite character - Cathbad, of all people, takes that title. I never would have guessed that from the first book! My advice - don’t judge him too quickly. He goes from a threatening presence to a quirky, helpful, friend. In a strange sort of way.

But seriously.

Just read it.